SpiritualismLink
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

‘Those who rush to stand on a pedestal will be wobbled off'

2 posters

Go down

‘Those who rush to stand on a pedestal will be wobbled off' Empty ‘Those who rush to stand on a pedestal will be wobbled off'

Post by Michael Wills Fri Feb 26, 2010 9:18 am

An interesting letter in the current Psychic News (re-printed with their kind permission) about newcomers to Spiritualist Churches. I have been attending Spiritualist Chirches for over 50 years-my parents were Spiritualists. At my age and with my experience of the Spiritualism, I still do not want to run a church or even feel competant enough to :
‘Those who rush to stand on a pedestal will be wobbled off'
IN 30th January issue, Minister Judith Seaman states, “It is important that church members realise they are part of a bigger organisation.” Additionally, she comments that “the Council also expressed its concern at the poor standard of philosophy on church platforms.” I made comment on this myself in a previous letter to PN; the area of philosophy needs to be addressed in the teaching at Stansted. Other comments from Minister Seaman included suggestions to churches to have someone to greet visitors! This should not even have to be suggested, it should always happen. Particularly important should be a welcoming smile and warm greeting to newcomers. Sadly, in my own experience